April Showers Bring May… Normalcy?

Good morning!   I hope everyone had a great weekend and is having a great week so far!  The weekend was a great mix of relaxing and fun which is just the way I like it!

Is it just me or does anyone else look at their spending from the weekend to remember what happened?  It’s like I remember big things but I will forget the little details – maybe an ice cream we stopped for or a coffee charge from when we ran in somewhere.  I love how tracking your spending reminds you of your priorities (and hopefully gives you a good feeling instead of a guilty one!)

April has been crazy with Easter, going on vacation,  Brad’s company picnic, T-ball games starting up for my nephew, and so on!  May is on the horizon and I am looking forward to a month of fun but normalcy.  The end of the school year will be upon us so Mer will be doing a fun drama camp for The Little Mermaid and such.  I am mainly looking forward to no traveling and getting my budget is a somewhat normal place.

Speaking of normal, I have yet to have a budget month that is “normal”.  Something always seems to come up – the refrigerator broke, kids are off of school, vacation, or some other unexpected event.  I think that is what makes budgeting so important is it gets my head to a place of anticipating things that will eventually happen (think more offensive than defensive!)  I knew eventually something would break in the house which is why I put money aside every month for home maintenance.  What do you know?  The refrigerator broke while we were on vacation.  $377 later, it is fixed but the money was set aside already for it.  How less stressful is that?  Did I love to part with the money?  NO.  But it was great to know we didn’t have to dip into savings or put it on a credit card to wonder how we would pay it next month.

BUDGETING ALWAYS WINS!!!  And here’s to a more normal month (if there is such a thing).  I will be posting my budget at the end of every month to show you where I am.  Looking forward to the accountability.

And sorry no pictures today!!!  Going to start being better about taking more!

Question:  When has budgeting won out for you?  What does a “normal” month look like? 

Leave a Reply

